Why I.Scout


Scouts

Scouting is a very important part of my life, and has developed me alot over the past 6 years and has given me so much confidence, new opportunities, taught me valuable life skills and leadership skills, just to name a few.

How Scouting is described at Scouts.org.uk:

‘We are the UK’s biggest mixed youth organisation. We change lives by offering 6- to 25-year-olds fun and challenging activities, unique experiences, everyday adventure and the chance to help others so that we make a positive impact in communities.

Scouts helps children and young adults reach their full potential. Scouts develop skills including teamwork, time management, leadership, initiative, planning, communication, self-motivation, cultural awareness and commitment. We help young people to get jobs, save lives and even change the world.’

I couldn’t have put it any better. Scouting is such a personally rewarding hobby whether you are taking part as a Scout or Volunteering in a leadership role. I have been acting as a Scout leader since November 2014, but took on the role officially since I turned 18 in February 2015. There are 5 different age tears (Sections) in Scouting; Beavers (6-8), Cubs (8-10½), Scouts (10½-14), Explorers (14-18) and Network (18-25). They are looked after by Young Leaders and Leaders. I am the Leader of ages 10½-14 as I like to challenge them and build their confidence and skills to a high level. As a young person I did Scouts and Explorers and from doing them I was given many amazing opportunities. I am very proud to now be a leader as I can give back to other young people what Scouting gave to me.

Scouts

My most treasured memory/experience is going to Kandersteg, Switzerland in 2012 with my Explorer group ‘The Koru-Inuits’. We swam in a glacier lake, rode in cable cars up a snowy mountain, sunbathed looking up at the snow peaks, had a tour around a Swiss chocolate factory and went canyoning among the vertical faces of the mountains. When we were there we stayed at Kandersteg International Scout Centre (KISC) and we met Scouts from all around the world, it was such a wonderful experience and one day I hope to take my Scout group on an International camp.

Scouting is seen as old fashioned and boring and that really couldn’t be further from the truth. Scouting is shaped around what young people of today want and need and each programme is tailored to develop the young people in that individual section/group. I would recommend scouting to anyone, it really does change your life.

To find your nearest group or to find out more, visit www.Scouts.org.uk.

Or leave a comment below and I will answer any questions!

One Reply to “Why I.Scout”

Leave a Reply

